Monday, 9 March 2009

Blurt..

So, I'm attending this lunch held at my grandparents place. They're lovely people, and my grandmom makes fantastic strawberry cheesecake - not too sweet, a tad bitter, with an aftertaste that makes you want to give up smoking forever. I relish it as much as the single malt that once occupied my otherwise bare cabinet. (The reason why it's bare is because nothing tends to last more than a weekend, the only exception being the bottle of JD which doesn't occupy my cabinet, but is safely kept in my cupboard instead. (Ha! I'm shifting it elsewhere you assholes)


I was quiet, polite and playing quite the recluse when this happenned -

"Son, did you watch Slumdog Millionaire?"

"Oh yes, I really li.."

"Rubbish movie! How typical of western directors to potray India as a slum-infested country and sell poverty like that! They should have at least shown a few developed areas you know, India is developing rapidly ..."

"(Arre yaar) Yes, but if you look at it..."

"There are so many smart movies that are being made nowadays.. that's India.. and how can an outsider come and depict us in such light. If it was an Indian director, I can still understand.."

"(Look interested you idiot)... Umm... yes.... I think.. (Fuck it).. I feel that we as a people are quite opportunistic. We like to shove ourselves into any event that has gained worldwide acclaim. Slumdog is not about India, it's not about the slums of Mumbai, and it's definitely not about the naked kids that live on the streets and people who are poverty stricken! It's about a boy who happens to live in the slums, who happens to fall in love with a girl, and who has the guts to turn the tide in his favour. Yes, destiny favours him, but very often he takes life by the scruff of its neck and pushes it in the direction he wants. Yes, it is dramatic and unbelievable, but most importantly, it is uplifting - and that one tone overshadows everything else... (Stop you dickhead!)... Sorry.. I got carried away.... (Blurt).. Yes, but it did feel good to let it out. Have a nice evening sir!"

Damn, I totally should have said that!

No comments: